MINUTES FOR THE JANUARY 2, 2024 MEETING OF THE CATHARINE TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Heather Flaig called the meeting to order at 4:00 P.M.

Present were Supervisors Heather Flaig, Ralph Rispoli, Kenneth Brenneman and Road Master Mike Fay

Visitors: Natalie Gorsuch, Daryl Cole, Kent Wilson

Annual Re-organization:

Temporary Chairman: <u>Ken Brenneman</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Temporary Secretary: <u>Ralph Rispoli</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Heather Flaig. Unanimous

Temporary Treasurer: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Elected:

Chairman: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ralph Rispoli, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Vice-Chairman: <u>Ralph Rispoli</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Heather Flaig. Unanimous

Supervisor: <u>Ken Brenneman</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Reappointed:

Secretary: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Treasurer: <u>Ken Brenneman</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Road Workers: Paul Miller, Shawn Zimmerman, Elva Fay

Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Laborers: Lisa Imler

Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Heather Flaig. Ralph Rispoli abstained

Roadmaster: <u>Michael Fay</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Heather Flaig abstained.

Wage Tax Collector: <u>Blair Co Tax Bureau</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Real Estate Tax Collector: <u>Melissa Gunnett</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Deputy Real Estate Tax Collector: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Elected/Appointed:

*If appointed, must be done each year unless someone is elected to position Auditor 6 year term: <u>Daryl Cole</u>, motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Auditor 4 year term: <u>Kent Wilson</u>, motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Auditor 2 year term: <u>VACANT</u>

Pay Raises

No pay raises were given at this time.

Shawn Zimmerman: <u>\$16.00</u>

Paul Miller: <u>\$16.00</u>

Elva Fay: <u>\$16.00</u>_____

Lisa Imler: <u>\$16.00</u>

Roadmaster Wages: <u>\$20.00</u>

Set Starting Wages for new hires:

Starting Wages Summer Help (School Students): <u>\$8.00</u>

Starting Wages for Road Workers: <u>\$16.00</u>

Starting Wages for Road Master: \$17.00

Starting Wages for experienced road workers: \$16.00

Starting Wages for Laborers: <u>\$16.00</u>

Starting Wages for Secretary and Treasurer: <u>\$15.00</u>

Starting Emergency Help Wages: <u>\$16.00</u>

Starting Experienced Emergency Help Wages: \$16.00

Tax Collectors Wages - <u>5%</u> (remains the same) motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Auditor's Wages - <u>\$10.00/hour (remains the same)</u>. motion Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Auditors will have to set all Supervisors and working Supervisors' wages:
Auditors met on January 2, at 5:00 PM to set supervisors wages. Wages will stay the same, unless changed by Auditors.
Secretary Wages - \$16.00, increased to \$18.00 starting next pay date.
Supervisors- \$1875.00 each supervisor (beginning at next term)/year

(\$5475 total for year)

Treasurer bond: - <u>\$300,000.00</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Open Record Officer: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Solicitor: <u>Nathan Karn</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Engineer: <u>Keller Engineers</u> Motion made by Ralph Rispoli, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Code Appeals Board: <u>Heather Flaig</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Government Advisory Committee: <u>Ken Brenneman</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Election Vacancy Board Chairman: <u>Pat Bottenfield</u> Motion made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

Williamsburg Municipal Authority: <u>Daryl Cole</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous Blair Co Sanitation Committee: Ken Brenneman

Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

General Fund Checking: PennCrest Bank

Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

PLGIT Funds:

<u>General Class, General Prime, Act 537 Plan, Marcellus Shale, Capital Reserve, and Liquid Fuels. Street Light fund will be closed due to eliminating that tax for 2024</u>

Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Mileage Rate: <u>67 cents per miles as per IRS</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Reorganization meeting will be held the 1st Monday in January unless that day is a holiday, then the meeting will be the first Tuesday.

Regular Monthly meetings will be held at the Catharine Township Building the

2nd Thursday of every month starting at 7:00 P.M.

Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 12pm-4pm

A motion was made by Ken Brenneman, seconded by Heather Flaig. Unanimous

Convention Voting Delegate: <u>Ken Brenneman</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ralph Rispoli. Unanimous

All emergency work done by road workers or laborers on New Year's Day, Easter, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day is <u>double time</u>. This motion will be continuous and will stand from year to year. A motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Township Sewage Enforcement Officer: <u>Luke Helsel and Alternates from Blair Co</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Emergency Management Director: <u>Steve Lane</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Assistant Emergency Management Director: <u>Bill Deters</u> Motion made by Heather Flaig, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Tax Increases: Millage for 2023: <u>0.941</u> Millage for 2024: <u>1.410</u>

Street light tax: <u>Eliminated</u>

Address any other pertinent information concerning the township at this time.

Heather Flaig made a motion to go into executive session regarding possible legal issues after

the Re-Organization meeting.

A motion was made by Heather Flaig to adjourn the reorganization meeting at 4:30PM, seconded by Ken Brenneman. Unanimous

Respectfully submitted,

Heather Flaig, Secretary